Our Mission

The mission of the North Central Texas HIV Planning Council is to provide an effective planning process that involves people living with HIV/AIDS and other concerned citizens, resulting in Quality HIV/AIDS services that are available for, and accessed by, those in need.



In 1990, the federal government wanted to ensure that funds which were meant to provide services for HIV positive people were determined at the local level. The federal government mandated that each state form Planning Consortia. In addition, cities which had more than 2,000 living cases of AIDS were to form Planning Councils. Both of these were comprised of community members. Over the years, this region merged the Consortium and Council into the body you see today.


Today, the Ryan White HIV/AIDS Treatment Extension Act (TEA) of 2009 is the law that gives au-thority to create these planning groups. It also is the congressional bill which allows money to be appro-priated to each area for services. The bill was named in honor of a young boy from Indiana who lived struggled with, and ultimately died from this disease.

The Planning Council


The North Central Texas HIV Planning Council is a body of volunteer citizens responsible for identifying and prioritizing service needs and determining gaps in services for Persons Living With HIV/AIDS (PLWHA) in an 8-county geographic area.


Members are elected to the Planning Council. Council members represent the geographic area (roughly bounded by the cities of Fort Worth, Wichita Falls, Abilene, and Brownwood), certain professional skills, the demographics of the HIV epidemic in north central Texas, and consumers of HIV services.

Want to Get Involved?

Copyright 2013-2019

North Central Texas HIV Planning Council

All Rights Reserved

Website Design and Maintenance

by Norcott Consulting